Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Nothing Special

Sorry, kids. No RPGWorld hentai on this diary nor is it a Fan Site To Doink The Clown. ... Then again, maybe I should make one. He was one of those bad wrestling gimmicks that actually worked. Well, before they turned him into a good guy. >.>


"These few items should keep you challenged"

Oh ho, my boss has such a wacky sense of humor when she gave me this list of a "few" things to do. I'll kill her... O.O; But, yes,... Grrr... Is all I can say. ... Grr....


"The Fate Of Ivalice Is In Your Hands." - Final Fantasy Tactics Advamce

Gah dammit, I'm fucking tired of having the fate of the world in my hands. Er... I mean... o.o;

Yes, well, I WAS going to work on MY RPG today. I decided, "Well, I'll play a little Final Fantasy before getting to work." 3 hours later... ^^; But, yes, I am now getting a hang of this game. For those people who do not know, let explain the plot a little bit.

You are Marche, a timid, yet kind boy who finds himself awakening in a world not that of his own. It was his home town but at the same time, was not. You would soon later find out, after catching up with your friend, Ritz, that the world has somehow turned into the game known as "Final Fantasy." Marche is now on a quest to find a way to return to his world. Yes. That is your plot. Well, so far.

You meet up with a Moogle named Montblanc, he teaches you about how Clans exist and that they make their living by doing missions. These missions are normally requests posted by people from all around at local pubs. These are somewhat similar to the Jobs from older brother. This is actually the only way you can advance in the plot of the game. When you come to the map screen for the first time, you'll notice it to be very bare. By completing major missions that advance the storyline, you receive a map piece in which you can place on an empty spot. This is very similar to the method used in Legend of Mana. If certain pieces are placed certain positions, it can trigger special secrets to the game.

One thing that was brought to my attention from one of Roo's friends is that there seemed to be no random battles. Well, technically there are and there are not. This leads to the introduction of the Clan Wars. There are other clans from all over who want to nuzzle in on your "territory." They will randomly show up on the world map and try to conquer one of the locations that you have placed. These clans can have a major influence on the game. So far, from my understanding, it's only the shops, but I haven't found out what worse they could do. So, whenever these clans show up on the world map, it's your job to chase them away. This is when you engage in a battle.

In the battlefield, all the basics from Final Fantasy Tactics are back. As I mentioned in an earlier post, one feature that will probably nag you is the inability to rotate the battle field. This can be bothersome at some points as objects get in the way but after a while can be overcome. The most notable new feature is the "Laws" system. Whenever entering a battle, there is a set law that must be accounted for. These "Laws" are, in a nutshell, handicaps for the battle. These "Laws" cover just about every attribute available at your disposal, including the prevention of certain weapons, spells or abilities. If any of these "Laws" are broken during battle, the character that broke the law is penalized. There are two types of penalties that exist: a Yellow Card and a Red Card. A Yellow Card is a warning and can sometimes affect your character in a small way. A Red Card will send your character immediately to jail. Anytime a character receives a Card, it will go into their record. If a character is sent to jail, you have the option to leave them there or bail them out. There is also the option to have them pardoned. I have not had a character sent to jail, yet, so I do not know what the specifics behind this are. There is no longer a wait period for characters when performing special commands. All magic, summons and other abilities are instantaneous. I believe this kinda takes away from the strategy, but maybe I'm wrong. I heard the game is hard, so I'll have to see.

The Job class system returns in a slightly different fashion. There are now 5 different races that will be found in this world of "Final Fantasy": Humans, Viera, Moogles, Nu Mou and Bangaa. Each race have their own unique abilites about them as well as their own specific Jobs. Humans are the well balanced class of this world, Viera are agile hunters, Moogles are talented with tools, Nu Mou are a wise race and known for strong magic, and the Bangaa are strong warriors. To earn abilities for these Jobs is completely different from the original Playstation version. You can learn your abilities by equipping specific weapons that have these skills attached to them. After using said weapons for a while, and earning enough AP (Ability Points), you can Master the ability and keep it with the Job class you are currently in. This system may be familiar to you as it is the same system used in Final Fantasy IX.

So far, in my almost 4 hours of gameplay, it is a very solid game and very addicting to play. The idea of the missions and the battling for your "turf" is an interesting step for this game. I'm sure there was more to this that I forgot to cover. Well, expect me to be ranting about some ultra hard boss that will probably kick my ass later.


Oh yeah... Roo has vacation. Sure she deserves it, but I still wanna bitch about it! Especially since my boss is screwing me up the ass and not allowing me vacation JUST cause I AM quitting in 2 months. >.> 2 FREAKIN' MONTHS!!! ::whine::

Roo: Your boss really likes you cause she's a MAN!!!

Jon: ::vomitting:: AHHH! I don't need that image! She's already scary enough to look at! ;_;

Yes, well, I think I'll call it an early evening and rest up. I mean, I can't wait for another exciting day at my hell hole! ^_^


Nothing new, nothing special. Was a very SLOW day today. Very boring. This evening wasn't all that fantastic either. I tried working on some fan art but we couldn't come to an agreement. Went and picked up my reserved copy of Final Fantasy Tactics Advance. It's a major reduction from its bigger brother. I keep trying to rotate the map. ^^; But, yeah, only pleay shortly on that, so no real opinion, yet. Um... that's about it for today. Again, nothing special.

Comments

Um, yeah, Ikari. Just, well, felt it was right to do that. ::shrugs:: Bad Jon? Tell me something I don't already know. =p

What picture, Roo!? I know not what you mean! ::setting fire to it:: We may have resolved the issue, but I guess I'm still me? ::shrugs:: Just something about you catching me... Maybe I'm embarrassed to watch it infront of you? I dunno. I'm sure it's one of those subconscious things. ... ... I have a puppy on my head. See? o.o

1 mints on my pillow.

 
akatora
hisako
ifni no miko
namgorf
pegasus
ruaki
ryurenjaa
saint purin
son gosai
 


archive - previous - next - recent - gallery - diaryland
all art and images displayed on this page are the copyright of their respective owners