Tuesday, Sept. 16, 2003
You two are just stupid.

First, I would like to state my findings of why I have been so unproductive as of late. I do not know why this reasoning did not come to me earlier, but the reason I have not done anything is because I'm FUCKING EXHAUSTED! I have been spending the past week beating my brains out having to come up with ideas, having to code webpages, and just using my brain non-stop for 8 hours a day. Okay, with school, it's not hard, you absorb information so that you can use it on the work you are handed. In my case, there is no information to absorb and my work I have to make up from scratch. So, yeah... I know for a fact that graphic design is NOT the occupation for me. Well, I should say this company has steered me away from it.

No on to the meaning of today's description. The company I work for is currently in development of a project that is aimed at quadriplegics. So, for the past two months, I have been working on the project named the "1st Breath". This is not the correct spelling as I don't need my boss doing a search and finding my entry before I leave the company. Anyhow, with the project coming close to its deadline, my boss has learned that the name that was going to be used is already under the copyright of some dog care medicine. You should already know this as I stated it in my previous entry. This was announced to me and my office sharing PR co-worker, Lauren (who is a sweetie), half a hour before closing. My boss comes in, tells us the news and asks us to help in thinking of a new name. We were unable to think of anything in the span of 30 minutes. "C1ear Breath" was the only thing which our boss thought of.

This morning, me, Lauren, my boss and the R&D (co-owner) guy has a meeting to discuss the name. We were given a list of names in which the R&D guy came up with. We ran through different ones, giving our opinions and so forth on them. Even tried new ones while looking through a thesaurus. Nothing was working. Eventually, the choice led to "Des-con-sa" which is Spanish for "Breather". The owner then realized that it may cause a conflict with one of our products that uses "Breather". So, I made the comment of adding "N" and "S" as an acronym for the foundation that will be marketing it. Being that companies will do things like this to make things fancy is normally common. Especially in the Japanese market. >D Like with the production of a new model of the company's with some fancy gadgets added. I recommended adding "EX" or "DX" to it and they seemed to like it. Back to the other story, They seemed satisfied and the meeting was adjourned (sp? - too lazy to go to dictionary.com). My boss asked me to begin production on the logo art, since I had to trash the previous one that I had worked on. She then retracted the idea and asked me to continue work on the webpage. I'm glad she said that because what happened next would have made me livid. It appears that what they have chosen actually meant "to take a breather". So, it was back to the drawing board for those two as I sighed in relief of not producing any new logos. I continue my day working on the webpage. We would later have a meeting that afternoon to discuss two new entries. My boss presents to us the two new ideas, which were both covered by sheets of paper as to "surprise" us. ... I sarcasticly mumbled "Oh, how cute..." as she presented the hidden names. The first to be shown was "Oxginar" or something like that which means "Oxyginate" and the other was "Aliento" which means "Breath" or "Breathing". Again, both Spansih. My boss asked us what we thought and I immediately responded with a very serious tone, "I hate them." I then went on to explain how they don't roll off the tongue like how the original idea was. The others were asked about it and they leaned towards the second choice. It eventually went back to me and admitted defeat as I had no other idea what to go with. Plus, I just gave up and didn't care anymore. It's there stupid product and as I said to them, "I'm just the designer. Go with what you want." I'm sure my boss heard the disgust in my voice but she never brought it up. So, yes, the product name they have chosen has no roll and just sounds completely stupid. I mean, if it was "Alienta", pronounced "Ah-lee-in-tah", then it has a better roll on the tongue versus "Ah-lee-in-toh". ... Actually, reading that sentence again, it's just plain stupid either way. The meeting ended and back to my desk I go to try to accomplish the completion of the company webpage. But that was just one of the great stories for today. I have more.

After that same meeting, the issue of the handle came up. Currently, the color to be chosen for the model is Orange. Well, to be precise, PANTONE Orange 21C. Let me correct myself, it's the color of the velcro on the unit. Not the handle. I'd explain the velcro part, but it's not that important. Learn more about quadriplegics if you want to know. We only had a select amount of colors to choose from: Red, Royal Blue, Brown, Olive, Green, Yellow, Black, Olive, White, Beige, Orange, and Gray. My boss thought the Royal would have been nice. I was against it. Originally, she was thinking to go with yellow. YELLOW!? WTF!? ... I chose to go with the Brown to match the autumn look of the unit. Also, since brown kinda falls in that warm color ... section, or something. The R&D guy was against brown, saying that it would make it too medicaly looking. "It's fucking orange, you old fool!" is WHAT I wanted to say. I stayed silent. Lauren speaks up and says why not go with the green. I decided to agree with her to just end my part of the topic. In the end of this, we all decided to go with the green. It looks more of a forest green if anyone cares. This decision would then lead up to a new headache of mine.

With the colors chosen, the package art needed to be changed. Well, since there was no logo, the color wouldn't be a issue. IF used correctly. I knew very well, whatever I did would end with opposition, anyhow. Oh, I did forget to mention that earlier, my boss approached me about the package art and asked me what I thought of adding a real person to it instead of the silhouette I used. Immediately, I flat out told her I was against it. I admitted that I couldn't tell her why but something inside me said it's not the right choice. My disagreement was ignored because she did have an upper hand from making an earlier suggestion that did work. Of course, this suggestion wouldn't matter anymore since the FUCKING LOGO ART has to be changed. Back to the after-meeting meeting, the subject of the package change was brought up leading to the addition of a real person on the art. I again restated my feelings on it. I also stated that by adding a real person, this completely changes how I have to view the package art. The R&D guy said he doesn't see why there has to be such a big issue with the package art being changed and why I was against a real person being used. He then points to our current packaging and states that there is real people on it. "Look, you old fart, you should fucking know that design means a lot to the consumer. You're a fucking old fool. This is America, not the fucking UK. So either start thinking like the American consumer or go back to your half-assed backward methods!" - Again, something I wanted to say. But, something I've always wanted to say to him because of his logic. Anyhow, what I did state was that adding a picture makes a big difference, especially when it's a single picture and how you use it. I can't just place it on the package art and call it a day. It doesn't work like that. Design carries a big impact on the consumer. But, he should fucking know this since he told me the same damn thing when he was talking about the design of the product we sell. ... Ugh...

But, yes, so now I have to design the package art with a real person. Oh, wait... With what pictures? Oh, yeah, the real kicker. We don't even have the permission of the guy they want to use. Oh! And we still need someone to photograph him. Oh! And the guy is in Oklahoma. >.> So, what do they do? They ask for Lauren, who is also his friend, to make the request and what he needs to do. So, now I have some guy who will be sending in pictures of himself (with the aid of another person) doing amateur photography that I am suppose to work off of. So, I did my best to explain to the "messanger" of what to look for when taking the pictures. I also heavily stated that there be SEVERAL shots taken. Let's see what we get when the photos get in by Friday. Oh... and they still need to be developed. AND I will still have to look through them and choose the best photograph to use AND to digitally edit. ... FUN!

Oh yeah. One last thing. From my understanding, everything needs to go to print by next week. So, here's the check list of packaging, promotional materials, and what not that I still have to complete (and modify to fit the new name and colors):

  • Package Art
  • Brochures
  • Posters (for Trade Shows)
  • Multimedia CD for the Foundation and Product
  • CD case and label art
  • and Web Page

It may not sound like a lot, but trust me, it is. Design alone takes forever, especially when it comes to getting approval. Then there is the coding and preparation of such items like the CD and Web Page. And we mustn't forget the most important part to allow time for: screw ups. Well, we have allowed a lot screw ups, so everything should be smooth sailing, right? Of course NOT! Oh yeah, my bosses know that I seriously have no intention of staying especially since their promises of things getting better have yet to be.

Lauren really wants me to stay because she already fears what will happen without me. ^^; She's our rookie and the company and she already hates my boss and the methods of the company. Didn't take long to crack her. She wants to do landscaping as a living. I produced some business cards for her and she's already been looking around and has been offered a job over in Pennsylvania. She has every intention of leaving this company for what she wants to. Doesn't that tell you how wonderful it is to work where I do?

In closing, as I have repeated over and over again, never E~E~E~VER work for a small company, folks. Never.

0 mints on my pillow.

 
akatora
hisako
ifni no miko
namgorf
pegasus
ruaki
ryurenjaa
saint purin
son gosai
 


archive - previous - next - recent - gallery - diaryland
all art and images displayed on this page are the copyright of their respective owners